What if Doom 3 were open sourced? - Good and Bad

Story: What if Doom 3 were open sourced?Total Replies: 2
Author Content
diffuze

Aug 04, 2004
1:41 PM
This is a very interesting thought. I am a gamer and I am a (not fulltime) linux user.
I have been playing Quake online since 1997 (A little Quake1, a lot of Quake2 and now Quake3). I have truly seen the "business" from inside.

Releasing the source code from the start would, I think, be a tremendous thing for game developers, and other developers whom might find a game engine useful. Releasing the engine souce code does have one disadvantage though. It kills the game that it originally came with..

Let me explain.. For a end user, a gamer, sitting at home playing Single Player Missions against the computer, releasing the source code does nothing. She/he keeps playing in single player mode happily ever after. She/he may ofcourse get some benefits by the new games that are released due to the open source code.